Jónasson goes stellar with
the Hidden Iceland Series.
Book One: The Darkness is THE
crime novel of 2018.

The Astonishingly Brilliant New Novel from Ragnar Jónasson
The Darkness - Book One in the 'Hidden Iceland Series'.

A young woman is found dead on a remote Icelandic beach.

She came looking for safety, but instead she found a watery grave.

A hasty police investigation determines her death as suicide . . .

When Detective Inspector Hulda Hermannsdóttir of the Reykjavik police is forced into early retirement, she is told she can investigate one last cold case of her choice - and she knows which one.

What she discovers is far darker than suicide . . . And no one is telling Hulda the whole story.

When her own colleagues try to put the brakes on her investigation, Hulda has just days to discover the truth. A truth she will risk her own life to find.

Expertly plotted, with an ending that's a true shocker, The Darkness is the first book in a trilogy featuring this engaging investigator, which is good news (The Guardian)

Superb. . . chilling . . . This is the first volume in Jonasson's Hidden Iceland trilogy, which tells Hulda's story in reverse chronological order and establishes her as one of the great tragic heroines of contemporary detective fiction (Sunday Times Crime Book of the Month)

Ragnar Jónasson

Ragnar Jónasson was born in Reykjavík, Iceland, where he works as a writer and a lawyer and teaches copyright law at Reykjavík University. He has previously worked on radio and television, including as a TV news reporter for the Icelandic National Broadcasting Service, and, from the age of seventeen, has translated fourteen of Agatha Christie's novels.

Ragnar Jónasson is a bestselling Icelandic author of crime fiction. He is the writer of the bestselling Dark Iceland series, featuring Detective Ari Thor. He is an international Number One bestseller. The Darkness is the first novel in his Hidden Iceland series, to be followed by 'The Island' and 'The Mist'.